Keynote and Invited Speakers

Confirmed invited speakers

Andrea Alu (UT Austin), “Nonreciprocal acoustics”

Allan Boardman (University of Salford Manchester), “A new view on hyperbolic metamaterials”

Alexandra Boltasseva (Purdue University, USA), “Transparent conducting oxides and plasmonic ceramics for nanophotonic applications”

Olav Breinbjerg (DTU, Denmark), “Metamaterial Antennas”

Paolo Burghignoli ("La Sapienza" University, Italy), “Metasurface 2D Leaky-Wave Antennas”

Jorge Bravo Abad (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain), “Lasing action in active plasmonic structures”

Emmanuel Centeno (Université Clermont, France), “Hyperbolic metamaterials: how to beat the diffraction limit”

Dimitrios Christodoulides (CREOL, USA), “Parity-time symmetry metamaterials”

Cristian Ciracì (Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia (IIT), Italy), “Quantum hydrodynamic model: a bottom-up approach”

Richard Craster (Imperial College London, UK), “High frequency homogenization for electromagnetic and elastic metamaterials”

Tie-Jun Cui (Southeast University, China), “Coding metamaterials, digital metamaterials, and programming metamaterials”

Aloyse Degiron (Université Paris Sud, France),  “Breaking Time-Reversal Symmetry In Microwave Metamaterials With Nonreciprocal Surface Wave“

Christian Della Giovampaola (Univ. Philadelphia, USA), “Digital metamaterials”

Luca Dal Negro (Boston University, USA), “Aperiodic plasmonics and metamaterials”

George Eleftheriades (University of Toronto, Canada), “Design of Huygens metasurfaces”

Andrea Di Falco (University of St Andrews), “Flexible metamaterials and new advanced photonics applications”

Jian-Wen Dong (Zhongshan (Sun Yat-Sen) University, China), “Experimental realization of microwave photonic topological insulators”

Nader Engheta (U. Pennsylvania, USA), “Extreme parameter metamaterials”

Shanhui Fan (Stanford, USA), “Recent advances on non-reciprocal light manipulation from dynamic modulation”

Zhe-Yu Fang (Peking University, China),  “Experimental graphene plasmonics”

Mohamed Farhat (KAUST, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology), “Some applications of graphene plasmonics and metamaterials: cloaking, super-absorption and acousto-optic coupling”

Carlos Garcia-Meca (Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain), “Analogue transformations in acoustics and optics”

Victor Gopar (Universidad de Zaragoza), “Beyond Anderson localization: Anomalous transmission of waves through media with Lévy disorder”

Anthony Grbic (Univ. of Michigan, USA), “High performance bianisotropic metasurfaces”

Sebastien Guenneau (Marseille, France), “All kinds of cloaking structures for many different types of waves”

Mats Gustafsson (University of Lund, Sweden), “Fundamental Bounds in Metamaterials”

Mohammad Hafezi (U Maryland, USA), “Photonic topological insulators”

Silvio Hrabar (University of Zagreb), “Passive and active metamaterial structures”

Zubin Jacob (U. Alberta, Canada), “Hyperbolic metamaterials”

Femius Koenderink (Center for Nanophotonics, FOM, The Netherlands), “Lasing at the band edges of plasmonic lattices”

Makoto Kuwata-Gonokami (U. Tokyo, Japan), “Polarization effects in metamaterials”

Uriel Levy (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel), “Dielectric metasurfaces”

Klas Lindfors (Uni Köln, Germany), “Imaging and steering an optical wireless nanoantenna link”

Zhaowei Liu (UCSD, USA), “Hyperbolic metamaterials for enhanced spontaneous emission control”

Alejandro Manjavacas (Rice University, USA), “Working on aluminum plasmonic metamaterials”

Alejandro Martínez (Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, and NTC, Spain), “Bringing metamaterials, plasmonics and nanoantennas concepts into silicon photonics”

Maiken Mikkelsen (Duke University, USA), “Emission rate control with plasmonic nanoantennas”

Graeme W. Milton (University of Utah, Salt Lake City, USA), “Mechanical Metamaterials”

Namkyoo Park (Seoul National University, South Korea), “Chiral interactions of light in complex potentials”

Dorota Pawlak (ITME, Poland), “Bottom-up approach to metamaterials and plasmonic materials”

Carsten Rockstuhl (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany), “Nanoparticle clusters with tunable response”

Zhichao Ruan (Zhejiang University, China), “Spatial control of surface plasmon polariton excitation at planar metal surface”

Massimo Ruzzene (Georgia Tech, USA), “Mechanical metamaterials”

José Sanchez-Dehesa (Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain), “About acoustic metamaterials”

Alex Schuchinsky (Queen’s University of Belfast, UK), “Intertwined spirals for metasurfaces and high impedance surfaces”

Patrick Sebbah (ESPCI, Institut Langevin, Paris), “Flexural waves in structured and disordered plates”

Moti Segev (Technion, Israel), “Topological insulators”

Vlad Shalaev (Purdue University, USA), “Metasurfaces and/or hyperbolic metamaterials”

Ping Sheng (HUST, Hong-Kong), “Acoustic metamaterials and metasurfaces”

Dan Sievenpiper (University of California, San Diego, USA), “Advances in anisotropic artificial impedance surfaces”

Costas M. Soukoulis (IESL-FORTH, Greece & Iowa State University, USA), “Optical metamaterial resonances with large quality factors

Din Ping Tsai (Research Center for Applied Sciences, Academia Sinica), “Plasmonic photocatalysis”

Nick Vamivakas (U. Rochester, USA), “Integrated Nanowire Plasmonics”

Martin Wegener (KIT, Germany), “Recent progress on diffusive light cloaking”

Joel K. W. Yang (ASTAR, Singapore), “Plasmonic color image”

Xiaobo Yin (University of Colorado, Boulder, USA), “Spin Hall effect of light at metasurfaces”

Nanfang Yu (Columbia University, USA), “Flat optics: Controlling wave fronts with optical antenna metasurfaces”

Martin van Hecke (University Leiden, The Netherlands), “Flexible Mechanical Metamaterials”

Shuang Zhang (University of Birmingham, UK), “Metasurfaces for manipulation of phase and amplitude”

Rick Ziolkowski (The University of Arizona, USA), “Miniaturized metamaterial-inspired antennas”

Supported by

MTI Diamond sponsor

CST Diamond sponsor


American Elements, global manufacturer of advanced electromagnetic, optoelectronic, & nanophotonic materials for fabrication of metamaterials